Quickie Travel Update!

Hello hello!

I wanted to check in and fill in anyone who is actually curious about my Australia adventures thus far. I landed here 2.5 weeks ago and have since visited: Melbourne, Cairns, the Great Barrier Reef, Gold Coast, Sydney, Alice Springs, and Uluru. Yeah, just a few places. Since landing, I have: gotten a stellar sunburn, eaten too many Tim Tams, met one of my best friends from tumblr in real life, reunited with my sister (who has been studying here since January), reunited with my Melbourne friends, pushed myself to be a little more adventurous, and made a handful of friends from all over the globe. My bucket list is getting its ass kicked and I’m SO pumped about it.

I’ve only got about 9 days left and they’ll be spent between Melbourne and Sydney. Currently, I’m writing from Melbourne and I’m just about the happiest I’ve been in a long time. Never have I ever felt a connection with a city (aside from sweet home Chicago) the way I do with Melbourne. Second home without a second thought.

Yesterday, I had a free day to spend by myself in Melbourne’s CBD. As soon as I got off the train at Flinders St. Station and walked outside, I had a “catch my breath” moment in the most literal way– being back, seeing a familiar landscape, and knowing exactly where I was/where I wanted to head– beyond amazing feeling. Even more amazing feeling? Writing/reading in cafes all afternoon. Ok, I’ll leave you with that for now. It’s late and I have lots of adventures to cram in over the next week and a half.

TL;DR… Destination Australia: Part Two has been amazing and leaving this time around might be even more difficult than the first time. And the next visit will be a semi-permanent one. 

Leave a Reply

