Now Playing: July 2014 Edition

You know those songs that are inexplicably more enjoyable when you’re wearing shades, the sun is out, and the wind is warm? They’re the songs that make you feel like the sun wants to linger a little longer, like you need to get up and dance around, like you’re in the opening credits of your own romcom/teen romance movie. That’s what I’ve captured in song for Now Playing: July Edition.

I was talking with my best friend-slash-music soulmate-slash favorite Sydney-dweller, Blake, about how we’re constantly moved by how music has such a strong impact on memories. Blake was on a wanderluster’s dream adventure traveling through Europe and like the wonderful musical soulmate he is, came home with loads of songs to tell me about (complete with story of where it was heard). What better way to encapsulate the summer or the adventure of a lifetime than to have a ton of tracks to remind you of it years later?

With that in mind, I threw some older songs and a few favorites from previous Now Playing posts just because they fit my criteria of “the perfect summer song.” The criteria? You just have to feel it when you hear it. I often found myself driving with the windows down and my stereo up with these exact songs. And since July is both the best month of the year and the most summery month of summer, I couldn’t resist. You’re about to hear a lot of happy, energetic, beat-fueled pop (with my signature slow jams sprinkled throughout). Keep an eye out for my absolute most exciting find, Misterwives’ “Reflections.” I still can’t put into words exactly what I love about this song. But maybe that alone says enough.

Without further ado, here’s what I had playing in July. Crank it up and let August rock!

 

Ed Sheeran – Don’t
Hellogoodbye – Finding Something To Do
The Harmaleighs – Sunflowers
NONONO – Pumpin Blood
Said The Whale – I Love You
The Unlikely Candidates – Follow My Feet
Jason Lancaster – You ‘N’ Me
OneRepublic – Love Runs Out
Bleachers – I Wanna Get Better
Magic! – Rude
Miley Cyrus – FU
Iggy Azalea – Black Widow
Ed Sheeran – Bloodstream
Kacey Musgraves – Keep It To Yourself
Hamilton Leithauser – Alexandra
Holley Maher – Perfect Day
MisterWives – Reflections
Sia – Chandelier
Andrew McMahon – Synesthesia
Matt Nathanson – Wedding Dress
The Wind and The Wave – It’s a Longer Road to California Than I Thought

 

Leave a Reply

