Now Playing: October 2014 Edition

I don’t know if there are many feelings I enjoy quite as much as the wet, golden chill of October. You know the one. It could be 1 in the afternoon, but the sky looks angry, the wind whips around you, and you can almost feel the green liveliness of the leaves slipping away. This is my favorite month to build a soundtrack to.

This playlist is full of swooping melodies, strings, and haunting voices. My favorite. But I also had to include a hefty amount of Yellowcard, since they released their album Lift A Sail on October 7th. These guys have been at it for a long time, but I’m convinced they can do no wrong. Between the Yellowcard, you’ll find a little indie pop (Bleachers’ “Rollercoaster”), a dash of eerie Meg Myers, a pinch of Andrew McMahon (“High Dive,” one of the most noteworthy tracks off his newly released album), a little Hozier and Neulore, and of course Bastille. I saw them play at Aragon Ballroom this month and they absolutely blew me away. Their songs, “Oblivion” and “Laughter Lines” have always been my favorite, but after hearing them played live, I love them even more. And they sound like October.

Happy Halloween and happy listening!

Yellowcard – Convocation
Bleachers – Rollercoaster
Meg Myers – The Morning After
Neulore – In The Orchard
Yellowcard – Transmission Home
Lily & Madeleine – Things I’ll Later Lose
Steve Aoki – Back to Earth
Yellowcard – Make Me So
Neulore – Shadow of a Man
Taylor Swift – Out of the Woods (yes, I know. I can’t believe I’m listening to her either.)
Yellowcard – Lift a Sail
Bastille – Oblivion
Andrew McMahon in the Wilderness – High Dive
Yellowcard – MSK
Maddie & Tae – Girl In A Country Song
Hozier – Like Real People Do
Nevertheless – When I’m Alone
Ben Howard – I Forget Where We Were
Clean Bandit – Rather Be (feat. Jess Glynne)
Bastille – Laughter Lines

 

 

Leave a Reply

