December DIYs for Days

I decided this December, it would be my mission to DIY til my hands could DIY no more. And I think I did a pretty good job of accomplishing that task! The best part? I was able to give away most of these DIYs as little bonus gifts to my sisters, girlfriends, and various loved ones.

Santa Letters
Made these for my younger sisters and their roommates. Quick and easy!

DIY 01What you need: wooden letters, red paint, white paint, red felt, black felt, white felt, cotton balls, cardboard, gold glitter, craft glue, ribbon, hot glue
Source: Pinterest

Winter Wonderland Shadowbox
By far my most challenging project, but it turned out better than I’d hoped. The Pinterest link had no information on what you needed or how to put anything together, but I managed on my own. Not bad!

DIY 02What you need: shadow box, silver paint, lots of white glitter, cotton balls, various sized bottle brush trees, copper wire battery-operated lights
Source: Pinterest

Peppermint Bark Brownies
Because I obviously couldn’t go through December without a little baking. I took this simple homemade brownie recipe and put my own twist on it. Instead of frosting: peppermint bark. I mean…

DIY 03What you need: brownies (see recipe), white chocolate, candy canes, a tiny bit of shortening, a sweet tooth
Source: Sally’s Baking Addiction

Tulle Santa Wreath
Just four basic materials and a lot of knotting.

DIY 04What you need: wreath form, lots of tulle, santa hat, hot glue
Source: Pinterest

Mason Jar Snow Globes
I feel like this might be the most popular winter craft on Pinterest, but I couldn’t resist a DIY with Mason Jars…

DIY 05What you need: various mason jars, bottle brush trees, ribbon, hot glue, white glitter
Source: Pinterest

Chevron + Glitter Canvas
Amanda and I browsed Pinterest for canvas ideas and saw this chevron pattern. We put our own twist on it by making it black and white and cutting out words in cardboard to use as the gold glitter pop.

DIY 06.1DIY 06.2What you need: canvas, black paint, gold paint, gold glitter, cardboard, so much patience
Source: Pinterest

Marbled Clay Ring Dish
When I saw these on A Beautiful Mess, I knew I had to make them for all of the leading ladies in my life as a little extra Christmas gift.

DIY 07.1DIY 07.2What you need: oven bake clay (lots), X-Acto knife, small oven-safe bowl, rolling pin, large can
Source: A Beautiful Mess

Mini Slow Globe Ornaments
Q: Is there anything cuter than an itty bitty tree with glitter as an ornament for your not so itty bitty tree? A: There is not.

DIY 08What you need: itty bitty bottle brush trees, white glitter, plastic light bulb ornaments, ribbon, hot glue
Source: Pinterest

Wrecking Ball Ornament
I don’t know anybody who loves Miley Cyrus as much as my younger sister does. When I saw this on Buzzfeed, I knew there’d be no turning back. Our Christmas tree will never be the same.

DIY 09
What you need: Miley printout, ornament, silver paint, some sort of chain/ribbon/wire, hot glue, Miley Cyrus as background music (obviously)
Source: Buzzfeed

Leave a Reply

